Finish year
to
已完成

The Bad Man

Director :
Year :
2021

Country: 

  • Taiwan
Color :
Color
Running Time :
76 min

Introduction

The Bad Man is a documentary of the life story of a violent and bloodthirsty young man from Kachin, Myanmar, who casually discusses killing as if it were not his own story. His past of a non-voluntary, military life has cost him a great deal and completely changed his post-military life. With all the wounds and experiences, he is now considering which path to take for the future.

Director Statement

I have chosen to document the life of a Burmese Kachin soldier, as I endeavour to manipulate things happening at the moment through filming. Myanmar has a history of the longest civil war in the world, which has lasted for more than seven decades.

The documentary, The Bad Man, outlines a story that is similar to my childhood experience. The protagonist in the film was captured by the Kachin Independence Army to serve as a soldier, which completely changed his life forever. I can remember one night as a child, the Kachin Independence Army broke into my house and conscripted me to serve in the army. I was only eight years old at that time. I was frightened and cried continuously. My parents tried by every means possible to prevent my being taken away by the Army. It was not until the soldiers were satisfied by the food and wine prepared by my parents, did they concede to letting me stay with my family.

Based on these experiences, when I encountered the protagonist, I couldn’t help but ask myself, "If I had failed to escape that night when the Army came for me, would my life have turned out the same as this man's? Would my mind have become as numb as his in relation to deeds that seem cruel by the standards of normal people?"

Every individual holds their own answer to the question “Is human nature inherently good or inherently evil?” However, I believe that everything we encounter in life will add small changes to our original nature.

 

Awards

2021 Taipei Film Awards - Best Documentary Nomination 

Team

  • Director
For a better experience using this site, please upgrade to a modern web browser.

影片完成時間
to
已完成

惡人之煞

導演 :
年份 :
2021

產地: 

  • 台灣
色彩 :
彩色
片長 :
76 min

介紹

本片紀錄一位充滿暴戾之氣、滿口嗜殺成性的緬甸克欽青年,他把殺戳當作兒戲一般談笑。過去的軍旅生涯使他付出慘痛代價,也徹底改變人生。如今面對未來的路,他該如何思考,如何抉擇……

導演的話

人性本善還是本惡,每個人有不同的觀點,但我相信在人生成長中所遭遇的一切,會使自己改變最初的本性。

我為什麼要紀錄一位緬甸克欽小兵的人生?或許他的某些遭遇與自己的童年經驗相似:片中的主角被克欽獨立軍抓去當兵,自此徹底改變他的人生。記得小時候的某個半夜,家裡被克欽獨立軍闖入,要強行抓我去入伍當兵。當時我只有八歲,受到了驚嚇而一直大哭。最後在父母親的百般阻撓、以好酒好菜盛情款待之下,那些軍人們才放過我。

因此,當我遇見這位因為戰爭而改變了一生的小兵時,我無法不問自己:如果,那一夜我被抓去當兵,自己的人生境遇是否也會跟他一樣?心性是否也會變成跟他一樣充滿了惡?

有時候我總想透過紀錄片,試著改變當下正在發生的一些事 ──因為緬甸是世界上內戰最長久的國家,已持續了70多年。

 

獎項與影展

2021 台北電影獎 最佳紀錄片提名 

工作團隊

  • Director
本系統已提升網路傳輸加密等級,IE8及以下版本將無法支援。為維護網路交易安全性,請升級或更換至右列其他瀏覽器。