Finish year
to
已完成

Coming Home

Director :
Year :
2018
Color :
Color
Running Time :
99 min
  • Indigenous people
  • Culture
  • Environment

Introduction

Elders at indigenous tribes in Pingtung recalled the flowing river of river valley of Dawu Mountain and created a sense of urgency for middle-aged generation of indigenous people of the culture at stake.

After the Typhoon Morakot ravaged their homeland, tjamautjung vikiyan and his niece kaljalju.tjaruzaljum decided to return to the uninhabited Dashe Tribe in Sandimen. They home school children to teach them the way of traditional life in the tribe. On the other hand, in Meiyuan Tribe of Jiama Township, Senedhe led other teachers to teach children tribal language and other life wisdoms of the ancestors, with things they get in the nature. Also, Debulanen and Yang Jiang-ying of the Piyuma Tribe of Taiwu Township, who were teaching tribal education to children, found it difficult to realize their ideal because the daycare center failed to have resources to fit the bureaucratic system. Because they understand the importance of their original culture, these middle-aged generations formed a “Tribal Daycare Alliance” to advocate policies from within the system and mobilize other educational resources.

Through mutual assistance, they consolidate grassroots strength and keep the seeds of tribal culture growing. The film “Coming Home” is more than documenting the efforts of these individuals as they strive to preserve their children. But also from the educational point of view, they remind us of the importance of passing on cultural legacy. Director Huang tries to discuss the issue with reasons and capture the deep emotions that tribal young attach to their homeland and the journey of growing young generations. Just like her usual fashion, each scene reminds us to treasure the nutrient provided by Taiwan and pass on this love of Taiwan to future generations.

Director Statement

When filming this documentary film, we are deeply impressed with the emotion that these middle-aged indigenous people showed. They were bonded by the culture and the sense of urgency of passing on their culture. Contrast to the deep understanding that these indigenous individuals have shown, most Taiwanese people are not ware of the crisis of the culture at stake and they are even indifferent. We hope through screenings of the film “Coming Home”, sharing and discussion, People from different cultural backgrounds can see the journey of these individuals, who try to safeguard their children through education. Hopefully, through the viewing experience, audience can have a sense of reflection, look at one’s own culture and develop their own observation and opinion

Team

  • Director
For a better experience using this site, please upgrade to a modern web browser.

影片完成時間
to
已完成

回家

導演 :
年份 :
2018
色彩 :
彩色
片長 :
99 min
  • 原住民
  • 教育
  • 文化傳承

介紹

屏東的原住民部落耆老們,回憶起當年大武山溪谷流水潺潺的情景,喚起了中生代青年對自己原鄉文化逐漸流失的危機感……
莫拉克颱風摧毀家園過後,武棟和他的姪女嘎拉露兩家人,卻還是決定回到宛如空城的三地門大社部落定居,帶著孩子以自學的方式感受土地與部落傳統的生活方式。另一方面,瑪家鄉的美園部落,馬秀辛帶著其他老師,以自然為教材,讓孩子們學會族語,以及老祖先們流傳下來的各種生活智慧。同樣實行部落傳統教育的泰武鄉比悠瑪部落,德布藍恩、楊江瑛等部落工作者,此時卻因為托育班沒有資源建設符合體制法令的設施,使得教育的理想面臨無以為繼的困境。因為了解原生文化的重要性,這群部落中生代一起成立「部落互助托育行動聯盟」,除了積極從體制內進行政策倡議,也串連起其他部落的教育資源,以互助的方式凝聚在地力量,讓部落文化的種子能夠持續萌芽成長。
《回家》這部片所記錄的不只是這群原住民為文化保存所做的努力,更從教育的層面提醒我們文化傳承的重要性。黃淑梅導演在以理論事扒梳脈絡的同時,也捕捉了部落青年對原鄉土地的濃厚情感,還有部落靈魂在新生代身上成長茁壯的軌跡。就如同她導演作品的一貫風格,片中每一個鏡頭都在提醒著我們,珍視台灣這片土地所給養分,並讓這份愛世世代代傳承下去。

導演的話

在拍攝這部紀錄片時,我們深深感受到所記錄的這幾位原住民中生代他們對自己文化深刻的情感,以及他們傳承文化的急迫心情。相對於原住民的深刻體悟,其他大多數台灣人對自己文化的消逝並沒有太多的危機意識,甚至是無感的。我們希望藉由《回家》這部影片的放映、分享與議題討論,讓不同文化的人們看到這群原住民朋友用教育紮根的心路歷程,在這樣的觀影經驗中,返回映照到觀者自身,回看自己的文化,期待能有一些體察與省思。

工作團隊

  • Director
本系統已提升網路傳輸加密等級,IE8及以下版本將無法支援。為維護網路交易安全性,請升級或更換至右列其他瀏覽器。